h1

Maxim Pt. 1

July 7, 2009

I don’t usually talk about world views and stuff like that here because it can get a lot of people angry. In fact something made me angry which is the whole point of this post. See, I used to subscribe to Electronic Gaming Monthly, but then they ran an article about video game villains and singled out Andrew Ryan from Bioshock. The first thing to note is Ryan isn’t even the main villain in that game. The second thing I took note of was how then went on and on about how evil Ryan’s view of capitalism, dog eat dog competitiveness and free market economics were. They even cited how evil Ayn Rand was since her book Atlas Shrugged was an influence on Ryan and Bioshock as a whole. Well, I happen to be a fan of Rand’s and that was the straw that broke the camel’s back with my relationship and subscription to EGM. I called them up and told them I wanted to cancel my subscription. They told me I had eight dollars or three magazines left so I told them I’d take the three magazines.The next month EGM went out of business so I lost my eight bucks and three magazines, but it seemed quite ironic to me that that happened to them right after they wrote that article about how evil free market economics were so I didn’t mind eating the eight bucks so much. I should also note that the views of that one writer might not reflect the views of everyone at the magazine, but still it angered me enough to cancel my subscription and in so doing help author the demise of the magazine as a whole. So I was out eight bucks or three magazines and several months passed and I almost completely forgot about the entire incident. Then this Maxim showed up in my mail box as a way of honoring the three magazines I had left. Tomorrow: Maxim Pt. 2

Leave a Reply

