h1

Dune

April 4, 2009

The first weekend in February my friend came over with his collection of Dune DVD’s. Now, I had seen the old David Lynch Dune way back in the day, but this was a new Dune from the Sci Fi channel plus it was the two sequel books after Dune which were Messiah Of Dune and Children Of Dune. I didn’t know if I was going to like Dune or not, but after watching the first three books I was hooked and I started  listening to the rest of the books while I was doing work. The book that the movies leave off on is God Emperor of Dune and it’s my favorite book in the series. It took me about two months to listen to the all of the books. Dune is long. The word epic was invented for Dune because it’s both epic and awesome. Dune is very basically about the evolution of humanity. A religious order called the Bene Gesserit began a breeding program for people that was supposed to end in the super human the Kwisatz Haderach using a substance only found on the planet Dune called Spice. Spice is made from giant Sandworms. Spice is used for everything including living longer, navigating spaceships, and making super humans. The first Kwisatz Haderach is Paul Atreides, but it dosent stop there as the books continue it turns out that there’s three levels of Kwisatz Haderach which is archived through various means of breeding, spice usage, and cloning which ends in the ultimate Kwisatz Haderach who will decide mankind’s fate at Kralizec the battle at the end of the universe, the last battle, Armageddon, The Apocalypse, whatever you want to call it. If dune were an apple what I just wrote would be just a layer of the peeling. There would be several layers of peeling after that before you even got to the meat of the apple then you’d have to keep digging to the core. If I were to write out all the key awesomeness of Dune it would take a really long time. That’s how deep Dune is. You can find out a lot more about it on Wikipedia or better yet forget about Wikipedia and check out the Sci Fi movies or the books. If you’re a fan of Science Fiction, robots, mysticism, or general awesomeness you should be looking into Dune. I’m not done with Dune either. Since I watched the first three books as movies I never listened to them in sequence with the other books. There’s a lot of information I missed so I’m going to listen to all the books again and listen to the first three books for the first time. After all, as they say in Dune, the spice must flow.

Leave a Reply

