h1

Hemingway

March 12, 2009

Spring always reminds me of Hemingway. I guess it’s because my most favorite Hemingway story is a short story called Three Day Blow where two guys are stuck in a cabin for three days because of the wind. When the wind kicks up in the spring I think maybe this’ll be a three day blow. The first book I read by Hemingway was A Movable Feast, but I didn’t really get into his work until For Whom The Bell Tolls. After that I started getting a lot of Hemingway like The Sun Also Rises, A Farewell To Arms, and To Have and Have Not, as well as tons of his short stories. A lot of the short stories I have on CD are read by Stacy Keach who also played Hemingway in the excellent Biographical movie Hemingway. Maybe Keach is also a Hemingway fan. There’s still some books I have to get like The Snows Of Kilimanjaro, Islands In The Stream, and Garden of Eden, but the books I do have have really influenced the way I use thought balloons and internal dialogue in the comics I do now. There’s a whole lot you can do with have characters thinking about the same situation from different perspectives that add to a story. If you’ve never read any Hemingway maybe you should give it a shot. Try reading Three Day Blow in the book In Our Time, then you can move on to something with a lot more meat like A Farewell To Arms and so on.

Leave a Reply

