h1

Taste Kid

January 22, 2009

I forgot how I heard about Taste Kid, but regardless of how I found out about it it can be a useful tool at times. The way it works is you type in a title off a movie, book, or band and then it returns results of items in the same genre. It’s awesome if you burn through everything in a genre and want more from it. It also acts like a weird stumble upon if you just keep clicking on related things. Here’s a search I just did recently for H.P. Lovecraft Taste Kid is on the money returning results like Ambrose Bierce, Robert E. Howard, Clive Barker, Poe, Phillip K. Dick, William S. Burroughs, Edgar Rice Burroughs, and the most interesting result Robert Anton Wilson. I’m a fan of all these guys and I see how they connect directly or indirectly with H.P. Lovecraft. The one thing Taste Kid is missing is results for video games. I don’t get it but, it’s a work in progress and it’s always learning so I hope in the future it’ll get results for video games. In the mean time I’ll use it for other stuff.

Leave a Reply

