h1

Construction

January 6, 2009

Lots of people are working on lots of different parts of Atomsplit right now. The part of Atomsplit I’m working on now is the free webcomic that will begin launching sometime in the Spring. The way I’m developing it and in fact the way I’ve developed most of Atomsplit is by using a formula I like. Everybody does their comics all kinds of different ways, but this is just the way I do my comics. In this post I’ll just be talking about the writing part which is where I’m at now. First I hand write the comic in a note book. That’s the first draft. Then I type it up. That’s the second draft. Then I print it out and correct it with a red pen. That’s the third draft. Then I fix those and that’s the fourth  draft and we should be all set. The reason I like to write fully detailed scripts and to do it in four passes is to make sure everything makes sense and I don’t have to worry about anything when I start drawing. Working without a script usually leads me into painting myself into corners, not knowing what to do next, or contradicting something I drew earlier. So it’s definitely better for me to write scripts and they usually end up looking like this:

COMIC STRIP TITLE

PANEL ONE: Description of scene.

CHARACTER A: Dialogue.

PANEL TWO: Description of scene.

CHARACTER A: Dialogue.

PANEL THREE: Description of scene.

CHARACTER A: Dialogue.

CHARACTER B: Dialogue.

PANEL FOUR: Description of scene.

CHARACTER A: Dialogue.

CHARACTER B: Dialogue.

That’s the format I use and if there are sound effects I’ll add those with an SFX: or if there is a narrator speaking I’ll add that as a CAP: which stands for caption. So, we’re planning to have the first year of comics, 52, updating every Monday by Spring like I said. When I get to step two which is drawing I’ll show you how I go about doing that part.

Leave a Reply

