h1

Heinlein Says…

October 22, 2008

This is an interesting quote I heard recently from Lazarus, a  Robert A. Heinlein character in the book Time Enough For Love, who also authored some other books you may know like Starship Troopers, Stranger In A Strange Land, and The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress, which is my most favorite one.

The quote goes:

“A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects.”

I have had the opportunity to do ten of the following, but the others haven’t presented themselves to me yet, although I’m sure I’d be able to do them. I was going to conn a ship one time, but that didn’t pan out.

2 comments

  1. He does seem to think that we should all be supermen.
    Whereas I agree with him in principle this list would require a far greater IQ than I possess.


    • Thanks for the comment! I subscribed to your blog. Insights on Heinlein, awesome! I wonder if Heinlein was able to do all that stuff by himself. I also wonder if asking for help is allowed on some of them. I hope I never have to plan an invasion!



Leave a Reply

