h1

Virgil Finlay

October 16, 2008

A couple of weeks ago I posted something about some awesome Sci Fi covers from the Golden Age Comic Book Stories blog written by Mr. Door Tree. At the time I thought they were just some cool comic covers from back in the day, and the Virgil Finlay pieces especially stood out, because I like that kind of art. Now, Mr. Door Tree has blown my mind by posting a article all about Virgil Finlay! I have never heard Virgil Finlay before this month, and I don’t understand why, but I’m glad I found out about him. If you want to know what skill is, if you want to know what craftsmanship is,If you want to know what a master’s art looks like, then look at these Virgil Finlay pieces. If you’re used to sloppy, ugly, and ridiculous modern art then these are going to be a white knuckle culture shock for you, but it’s totally worth your time to click on each image and examine how Finlay uses cross hatching and stippling to make some very dark areas fade into soft lights, or uses uniform crosshatching to make medium grays all over an image, or uses really heavy crosshatching to almost total black to show atmospheric perspective. Virgil Finlay illustrates like Moebius, Berine Wrightson, or Barry Windsor Smith, and I’m sure in some way he had a little influence on them. I’m going to have to try and find some art books of Virgil Finlay’s if I can.

Leave a Reply

