h1

I Think Of Dean Moriarty.

April 7, 2008

On The Road by Jack Kerouac is a book I’ve read three times and listened to once in audio form. It’s rare I like manually reading something over having to read to me, but On The Road is one of those cases. When I saw this today I thought it was really awesome. Stefanie Posavec has broken down On The Road from part to word and then color coded all the various themes. In Literary Organism the words are symbolized by flower petals so for instance Dean Moriarty is color coded blue and there are a lot of words about Dean Moriarty so there are large blue petals all over the place. Here is a super high res image so you can see what I’m talking about. Here are some more charts she made concerning On The Road too. I wonder how many times Stefanie Posavec read On The Road to make her art maps. If you’ve never read On The Road I suggest you read it. It’s a really awesome book and if you like it there’s a lot of other Beat Generation writers besides Kerouac out there too and a great way to get started finding out about them is with this book.

Leave a Reply

