h1

The Trouble With Genji

February 24, 2008

The trouble with Genji is that it sucks, and it didn’t have to. Genji: Days Of The Blade. That title rules, hands down. When you have a title that cool everything in the game should be that cool. If I was project manager of this game I’d have a meeting every day and I’d go over these certain points: Is serving fools up epically in this game as cool as the name Days Of The Blade? Check. Is the new Kamui system in this game as cool as the name Days Of The Blade? Check. Is the story and character depth in this game worthy of the name Days Of The Blade? No. Now we’re breaking down. Is the fixed camera  in this game as cool as the name Days Of The Blade? No. Uh Oh. Is frustrating jumping elements in this game as cool as the name Days Of The Blade? No. Not good. That’s really the problem I have with this game too. I don’t mind not really caring about the story or characters as long as I’m beating people in the face awesomely like I should be in a staight up hack & slasher like Genji, but these platforming puzzles all of a sudden break that flow and you’re sitting there jumping falling in the pit running back to the jumping place then falling in the pit, rinse, repeat, because you can’t move the camera to see what you’re doing.  The worst part of it is I made a real effort with this game because it was a gift and I didn’t want to waste my loved ones money. But it just wasn’t worth it especially if I just didn’t care what was going to happen to these characters. It makes me angry cause I know how good this game could have been because Genji 1 was good and Folklore was good. That’s a 2 and 1 record for Game Republic with me. Hopefully the next Genji will have all the good elements of 1 & 2 mixed together into a really awesome game, but I’m going to watch the reviews really closely. There’s a reason Genji 1 got a 75% approval on Game Rankings and Genji 2 got a 57% approval and now I know why. When games are 60 bones a piece these days you can’t just assume that the next one in the series will be as good as the one before it.

Leave a Reply

