h1

Red Dawn

December 24, 2007

Last night I watched one of my most favorite movies of all time, Red Dawn. If you’ve never seen it go check it out. Wolverines!!! After I watched it I started thinking about the eighties and since it’s Christmas that led me to thinking about toys. When I was a kid in the eighties we had the pinnacle of awesome toys.  That’s just all there is to it. Look at this and this and you’ll see what I’m talking about. The first list has two cool things a Transformer and The Rubik’s Revolution. Doug knows a little something something about the Revolution. The second list is Toys R Us’s hottest toys for 2007. If that’s what kids are playing with these days I just don’t even know what to say. It’s pathetic. Everybody’s worrying about lead, well look what the lead is attached to! Those are without a doubt the lamest toys I’ve ever seen.  Let me give you the run down on Christmas 1987: Mad Balls, Garbage Pail Kids, G.I. Joe, real Transformers, Star Wars, He-Man, Nintendo, maybe a four wheeler. Christmas 2007: Hannah Montana, some sort of Cookie Monster, and an exercise bicycle!?!?! What about a real bike, a real BMX bike, like a Mongoose. I used to have a Mongoose. I used it to jump over the creek when I rode bikes with my buddies. Maybe Red Dawn has already happened and we just didn’t see it. Some insidious commies are waging war on fun and the front lines are at the toy store. Well, at least kids today have video games to play, but then maybe that’s why they need the little tyke exercise bike.

Leave a Reply

